Coffee Cream Bars.

Oh. My. God. I just discovered these slices of heaven yesterday and made them immediately. It was the best decision I have made all week. If you do nothing else this weekend, make these amazing coffee cream bars. This is literally one of the nicest desserts I have ever tasted, and get this – It’s gluten free and vegan!! If you have read any of my recipe posts recently, you will know that I am attempting a paleo diet, but the cravings were really kicking in yesterday so I began trawling Pinterest for something to fill the hole. And boy did they!!!

DSC01956

DSC01959

So, I changed a few things from the original recipe and having only made them once I can’t say whether it was an improvement or not, but I’ll give you my recipe because I CAN say that it tastes amazing. Also – if you’re not a coconut fan, don’t be put off – my sister hates coconut, but loved these and said she couldn’t taste the coconut at all.

What you need –

For the crust:

1 cup flaked almonds

1 cup medjool dates

2 tsp instant coffee (I used super strong stuff)

2 tbsp water – just to bring it all together

For the filling:

1 400ml tin of coconut cream*

2 tsp instant coffee

3-4 tbsp pure maple syrup

2 tbsp Kahlua or Baileys – I used Baileys

*A tip for buying coconut cream is to give the tin a shake in the shop – some have a higher water content than others, the less liquid you can hear (or feel) inside, the thicker it will be. I like to annoy the staff in the supermarket by shaking every single can with my ear against it before finally making a decision…more often than not I end up using the first can I picked up.

For the topping:

3 tbsp coconut oil, melted

3 tbsp raw cacao powder

3 tbsp pure maple syrup

How to do it –

You need to whiz up all the ingredients for the crust in a food processor, not so much that it all goes smooth, you want a good crunch from the almonds, but enough to make a sticky (delicious) paste. Try to avoid eating all of the crust at this stage, it’s very easily done… “Maybe just one more spoonful…”

Line an 8×8 baking tray with baking paper and spread the crust evenly over the bottom. I found this difficult to do with a spoon because it just stuck to it, so I laid another piece of baking paper over the top, ‘squidged’ it all down and then peeled the paper off.

Now make the filling (my favourite bit!) I shoved it all in my Nutribullet and it was blended in a few seconds, but a stand mixer or food processor will work just fine too. It’s easy, just blend all the ingredients together until smooth and creamy. Pour evenly over the crust and put the lot in the freezer.

Now for the topping. If the coconut oil is solid, you need to melt it – I just whacked it in the microwave for a minute. There was no coffee in the original topping, but it gave mine an amazing flavour and a bit of a crunch which worked so well with the creamy filling, so add the coffee, cacao and maple syrup to the (now liquid) coconut oil and give it a good stir until well mixed.

I left the filling in the freezer until partially frozen before adding the topping because it would be impossible to spread if not. So once your filling is solid to the touch, spread the topping quickly over it – you have to be quite quick because it will harden as it makes contact with the cold filling. Once that’s done you’ve finished! Put it back in the freezer, leave it to freeze completely, if you can control yourself that long, and then remove it from the freezer 5 minutes before serving so it has time to thaw a little. Cut into slices or squares and you’re good to go!

I understand that once you’ve tried this recipe you will be completely and utterly overwhelmed with gratitude, so please feel free to send thank you cards, letters and gifts directly to my manager and he’ll pass on them on. Oh wait, crap, I don’t have a manager…

DSC01955

Original recipe can be found here. 

2 thoughts on “Coffee Cream Bars.

Leave a Reply

